Log in


Log in

Past Minoru Yasui Community Service Award and Governor Ralph Carr Award Recipients

Minoru Yasui Community Service Award
Each year, APABA and the APABA Foundation award the Minoru Yasui Community Service Award.  The award goes to an individual or group whose community service exemplifies the achievement of Mr. Yasui, who challenged the laws applied to Japanese-Americans during World War II and advocated for civil rights and liberties of American citizens, regardless of race or ethnicity.

Governor Ralph Carr Award
The Governor Ralph Carr Award is given to a young attorney (10 years of practice or less) who has exhibited a commitment to public service through public sector work or a substantial commitment to community service. The award winner will be directed to spend the stipend toward CLE or repaying law school loans.  Governor Carr went against popular anti-Japanese sentiment by urging Coloradans to welcome evacuees during the government's decision to resettle Japanese-Americans from the West Coast to a camp at Amache near Granada, Colorado.  Carr's advocacy for racial tolerance and for protection of the basic rights of Japanese-Americans are generally thought to have cost him his political career, including his ambition for election to the United States Senate.

Past Award Recipients
 Year  Minoru Yasui Community Service Award  Governor Ralph Carr Award 
 2022 Harry Budisidharta Heather Wong
 2021 Sumi Lee Stephanie McConkie
 2020 Suenna Johnson Kamela Maktabi
 2019 Hon. Monica M. Márquez Andrew Ho
 2018  Neeti Pawar   Surbhi Garg
 2017  Jenifer Rodriguez  Kira Suyeishi
 2016  Andrew Hamano  Arash Jahanian
 2015  Nina Wang  John Lee
 2014  Byeongsook Seo  Rayna Gokli
 2013  Dan Sweetser  Nicoal Wolfe
 2012  Kenzo Kawanabe  Harry Budisidharta
 2011  Melvin Okamoto  Siddhartha Rathod
 2010  APABA Founders  Melody Mirbaba
 2009  Kathleen Nalty  Irene Kawanabe
 2008  Kerry S. Hada  
 2007  Paul Chan  
 2006  Fay Matsukage  
 2005  Hon. Michael Watanabe  
 2004  Colorado Heritage Camps, Inc.  
 2003  Karen Nakandakare  
 2002  2001 Inaugural Dragon Boat Festival Steering Committee  
 2001  Stan Matsunaka  
 2000 Mandy Yick 
 1999 Tom Migaki 
 1998 Hon. Alfred C. Harrell 
 1997 John Castellano 
 1996 Asian Pacific Development Center 

Call us:


Email us:

P.O. Box 282

Brighton, Colorado 80601

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software